Top Social

#OMKindle TBR - April 4th to 11th

Monday, April 4, 2016
On My Kindle Book Reviews TBR List for April 4th to 11th


My long overdue TBR pile is now down to three books. Don't get me wrong, I still have plenty to read after I am finished with the three books; however, those book reviews are not due until May, or June.

To avoid overwhelming myself with books like I did earlier this year, I am keeping the form for book review requests closed until I have finished the books that are due in May/June. I will still accept requests from authors that I have worked with in the past, or authors who have been referred to me by authors that I have worked with in the past. This has not changed, and I do not plan on changing this policy anytime in the near future.

For the people who have expressed concern and encouragement regarding my health; I really appreciate your concern and support. It really does help to keep me going.

I got the results back for the thyroid labs late last week and they confirmed what I suspected; 100mcg of Synthroid is a bit too much for me, so it has been knocked back down to 88mcg. My doctor theorized that the generic equivalent may be the reason why my levels keep fluctuating, so I have been taking the name brand Synthroid for the past two months. I hope that her theory is correct, and I will find out in a couple more months when I go back in for another round of thyroid labs.

The comments section of the blog disappeared for about a week. I am sorry if you tried to comment, but were unable to. It is fixed now and you should be able to post comments again.

To-Be-Reviewed

I was a bit worried that I would not get all of the books in last week's TBR pile read, but I managed to do it. In case you missed last week's TBR post, there are two books from that pile last week and one from the week before that I will review this week:

     The Phantom of Faerie Mountain by E.M. McIntyre, to be read by On My Kindle     To-Be-Reviewed this week on On My Kindle Book Reviews, Tales from the Land of Forever by B.A. Keating     

To-Be-Read

This week's TBR pile is a break from the norm here on On My Kindle. I have a couple of non-fiction books, and a horror/occult book in the pile.

Minor by Meghan McDonnell


To-Be-Read this week by On My Kindle Book Reviews, Minor by Meghan McDonnell


Summary

Minor is the first installment of the personal journals in which, for over 20 years, writer Meghan McDonnell has chronicled her life beginning at age eight through present day. With searing candor and tenderness, her musings on daily life and observations of family, social and romantic relationships coalesce in a commentary on growing up, facing down passion and fear, and American life in the 21st century. Wide in scope and vivid in detail, her journals are her confessional love letter to the world. Join her on a fearless, vulnerable, sometimes painful and quixotic, but always honest journey, also known as the human experience. Readers who love Cheryl Strayed or Karl Ove Knausgaard will enjoy this author.

Volume one spans her eighth year through age 17; reflections on family, friendship, education, a stint at survival camp and coming of age.
~ Summary from Goodreads.com ~

I have already started reading this book which is formatted like a diary, or journal. Without giving away too much, it is interesting to read another person's perspective on the television shows, movies, and music that influenced those of us who grew up in the 80's and 90's.

Crossroads: Women Coming of Age in Today's Uganda by Christopher Conte


To-Be-Read by On My Kindle Book Reviews, Crossroads by Christopher Conte

Summary

They are rooted in their culture's rich traditions, yet they stand at the cutting edge of change. This is the crossroads where many Ugandan women find themselves today. With dignity and grace, they play a complex social role, balancing worldly sophistication with reverence for the values of their upbringing.

In Crossroads, a group of these women explore the past that shaped them and the future they hope to build, telling varied stories about a rapidly changing society where they serve both as guardians of culture and harbingers of reform.

While one woman examines the cultural implications of Ugandan names, another describes being tortured in a secret prison, and a third traces the mix of African and imported religions that shaped her. One mocks girls' traditional sex education, while another voices her love of sports and a third reflects on her struggle to overcome a legacy of growing up in a war zone. All challenge social expectations, yet many view "modernization" with ambivalence.

Covering topics from sex roles to western ideas of "development," this compelling picture of the lives of women in today's Uganda, sometimes funny and sometimes tragic, provides powerful testimony to the strength of the human spirit.
~ Summary from Goodreads.com ~

I enjoy learning about other cultures and seeing the world through different perspectives. I am really looking forward to reading this book and seeing in what ways my world view is similar, or different from theirs.

October 32nd by Larry Rodness

To-Be-Read by On My Kindle Book Reviews, October 32nd by Larry Rodness

Summary

It's October 31, and insurance agent Alexander Malefant is sent to picturesque Elora during its annual Halloween festival. No sooner does Alexander arrive than he witnesses the near-drowning of a boy bobbing for apples. Shortly after that, a group of children are attacked by crows. Later that evening, all the children in the village suddenly disappear. Soon, every person becomes a suspect as residents frantically try to discover what happened to the children. Who or what is behind these disappearances, and can they get the children back before it's too late?
~ Summary from Goodreads.com ~

I used to read Stephen King novels when I was younger and the book's description sounds like it came from one of his novels. I find this intriguing, and I am looking forward to reading this book.

Are there any books on this week's TBR list that you would like to know more about? Let me know in the comments.

Here's hoping that you have an awesome week!